For those of you who are looking to apply for a permanent residency in Canada, the rules have changed a bit.

What is the NOC?
National Occupation Classification is a system of classifying different occupations based on the type of work, skill level needed and the overall job duties that need to be carried out.

More than 30,000 jobs are listed under the NOC.

Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) is about to transition to the 2021 version of National Occupation Classification (NOC). This means that applicants to all programs now need to enter a different code in order to classify their occupations.

Those of you who have applied before the 16th of November, 2022 needn’t worry as these rules do not apply to you.  Your applications will be assessed under the past NOC 2016.

NOC 2021 will bring with it a string of new jobs that are lucrative and highly sought after. 

Given below are the list of occupations that have been added:

  • Estheticians, electrologists and related occupations
  • Residential and commercial installers and servicers
  • Pest controllers and fumigators
  • Correctional service officers
  • By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers;
  • Transport truck drivers
  • Bus drivers, subway operators and other transit operators
  • Heavy equipment operators
  • Payroll administrators
  • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants
  • Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates
  • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants
  • Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants
  • Sheriffs and bailiffs
  • Other repairers and servicers
  • Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors

Three occupations that no longer remain under NOC 2021 are Program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport and fitness, tailors, dressmakers, furriers and milliners.

IRCC is categorizing each of these occupations under a five-digit code instead of the four-digit ones.

The new NOC will also be ranking occupational groups on the basis of five hierarchical levels comprising the broad occupation category; major groups; sub-major groups; minor groups; and unit groups.

The new users will need to properly match the job titles with the jobs that they will be applying to. 

NOCs traditionally change after every 10 years so that the different occupational groups are reviewed and a collective decision regarding which ones to keep and which ones to scrap can be taken.
The fresh NOC system will have considerable impacts on employers who wish to recruit foreign workers as it will be more streamlined.


Content Protection by